Coming Full Circle (part 1)

20160125_100158 “you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards”

“A massage therapy course…….that sounds like fun!” These were my thoughts back in the late 90’s when I didn’t really have much of a career plan. Little did I know at the time, that some 14 years later I would still be working in the Wellness industry as a qualified massage therapist and personal trainer, operating my own small business empowering people to live their Ultimate Lifestyle.

When I started my massage therapy course, it became clear that I was really good at it and I actually enjoyed doing it! I just kept signing up to learn new modalities and after 3 years of full time study, it was time to put all my current knowledge into practice. The opportunities that are available in the Wellness industry are endless. Now I needed to decide which direction I wanted to go. Would I work for myself from home or offer mobile massage? Did I want to do corporate massage? Work in a physio or chiropractic clinic? Or did I want to work in the spa industry and offer other treatments too? The one thing I was certain of, was that I wanted, no, needed, to travel.

So for the next 14 years my journey presented me with the opportunity to travel to the most exclusive destinations around the world, sharing my passion of fitness and health with people.

I started working on the tropical island resorts along the east coast of Australia, where I was fortunate enough to be trained by numerous spa care ranges, learning an extensive menu of services that I would offer as a Spa Therapist. How exciting to learn body exfoliations and wraps, facials, hand, foot and scalp treatments, hydrotherapy and vichy shower treatments, to name a few.

Now that I had been welcomed into the world of Spa my passion grew even more. I loved the variety of treatments I could now offer, which made every day at work totally different. Having studied Aromatherapy at college certainly helped with learning all of the new spa products and their ingredients, and I loved learning the philosophies behind the product companies.

Over the years I refined all of my techniques to offer exceptional services to discerning guests including high profile celebrities and royalty (sorry, no name dropping! Confidentiality agreement. But let’s just say that although I have experience looking after this calibre of guest, I treat all of my guests with the same high level of service)

So the next 4 years were spent offering luxurious spa services, and working and living in paradise on different island resorts. The spas were all very unique in their own way, and certainly incorporated the surrounding beauty of the island.

My lifestyle became very different from living on the mainland. I no longer had a car or the freedom to do what I wanted when I wanted. Accommodation was shared living and all meals were served during allocated times. So, if I didn’t get along with my roomie or didn’t like the food options, I just had to learn to accept, adapt and learn from the experience. It takes a certain type of person to leave the comfort of their home and freedom of the mainland, to move to a remote island only accessible by sea plane or long boat rides, and live there for 6 months or even 12 months. It takes courage and risk. It means stepping out of your comfort zone and being open to new opportunities.

But it also means creating wonderful friendships with new friends, laying on white sandy beaches, diving in crystal clear warm water, taking helicopter and sea plane flights above the incredible Great Barrier Reef, hiking through pristine Daintree rainforest, eating fresh seafood, sunset cruises, whale watching, swimming with dolphins, watching marine turtles dig their nest to lay eggs, and then months later helping the little hatchlings safely reach the ocean, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding,  enjoying picnics on secluded islands, watching beautiful sunrises and sunsets………just some of the wonderful memories I have!

And I can say with all honesty, that the decision I made back in 2002 to start my career in the Wellness industry and travel the world by doing it, has been the best decision yet!

 

Want to know what happens next? I continue my journey in “Coming Full Circle Part 2”

Published by

lifeforcejourneys

As a qualified Personal Trainer and Massage Therapist, I live and breathe Fitness and Vitality. My passion is to inspire and motivate people to design the life they truly want!

Leave a Reply

